Required Auto Insurance Coverages in Florida
Whether you live in Miami, Orlando, Jacksonville, or beyond — all Florida drivers are required to have at least these coverages and limits:
- $10,000/$20,000 bodily injury liability coverage per person/per incident
- $10,000 property damage liability coverage
- $10,000 personal injury protection (PIP) per person
Technically, Florida policyholders can reject bodily injury liability coverage in writing to their insurance company — though it’s not exactly recommended. This coverage can help pay for the other driver’s accident-related medical expenses when you’re found at fault in an incident.
How fault works after an accident
Florida is a no-fault state, which limits your right to sue an at-fault driver after an accident. No-fault coverage (sometimes referred to as personal injury protection) applies to medical expenses after an accident (and not to damaged property).
What PIP can cover
If you’re injured in a covered accident, personal injury protection can pay up to 80 percent of your injury costs, and up to 60 percent of lost wages if you can’t work due to injuries caused by the accident. If you’re unable to perform regular household tasks, PIP can also help pay for substitute services like cooking and cleaning.
When drivers can sue for medical expenses
In spite of the no-fault moniker, drivers can still sue an at-fault driver for medical expenses after serious accidents in Florida. Lawsuits can be filed if the accident resulted in permanent or fatal injuries or disfigurement. Bodily injury liability coverage can financially protect at-fault drivers if a lawsuit is filed, but only up to the limits you choose on your policy.
Optional Car Insurance Coverages
These optional coverages will give you extra peace of mind and added financial protection in the event of a claim:
- Towing and labor
- Customized parts and equipment
- Auto loan/lease (or “gap”)
- Medical and funeral services payments
- Uninsured/underinsured motorist bodily injury
Proof of Auto Insurance in Florida
Electronic proof of insurance
Just another way technology makes our lives easier — Sunshine State drivers can provide digital auto insurance ID cards as legitimate proof of coverage under state law. What’s more, Esurance customers can manage their policies and access their ID cards any time on our convenient mobile app.
Uninsured drivers in florida
The Insurance Research Council estimated that a whopping 23.8 percent of Florida drivers were uninsured in 2012. That was almost double the national average of 12.6 percent.
Uninsured motorist coverage is an optional policy addition that helps pay injury and property damage costs for you and your passengers if you’re ever involved in an accident with an uninsured or underinsured motorist.